My year of wild consumption.


20170111_212319

2017, a year dedicated to creativity (in progress).

As I addressed in my last post, 2016 was a difficult year for me. That being said, it was full of a lot of self-care, and while I was doing a lot of crafts, I was also doing a lot of… Netflix. And Amazon Prime. And whatever other streaming network I could get my hands on.

To give you an idea, over the space of the year, in no particular order, I watched:

  • Orphan Black (Seasons 1-4)
  • Mr. Robot (Season 1)
  • Gilmore Girls (last 5 seasons plus the reboot)
  • Girl Meets World (Seasons 1&2)
  • Crossing Jordan (last 3 seasons)
  • Call the Midwife (1.5 seasons)
  • Outlander (1.5 seasons)
  • The Mindy Project (3.5 seasons)
  • Fresh Off the Boat (1.5 seasons)
  • This is Us
  • Atlanta (first half of the season)
  • The Walking Dead (last season… not really interested in this one)
  • Parenthood (All of it)

And… those are just the shows I binge-watched. That I can remember. I was in a state of wild consumption. It was all I could do to keep my mind and my hands busy (usually I was crocheting or cleaning or spinning yarn or knitting while watching these things). Still, that’s comparing to it taking me almost a full year to watch the first season and a half of Gilmore Girls beforehand.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with TV, and don’t get me wrong, some of that was really good TV. But I was stuck in consumer mode. 100% intake, no creative export. It was.probably what I needed at the time, but these first few days of 2017 I’ve been putting a lot of my focus on doing something creative every single day, with the focus of that being working on my novel. And let me tell you, as enjoyable as taking in good content is, creating good content is so, so much better.

I have to push myself some days. It’s not always easy. Sometimes I have to squeeze it in between a long night of work and a few spare hours of sleep during the day. But I’m reconnecting with my characters, I’m starting to see a light at the end of the tunnel, and I’m back to creating. It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

